Return to Headlines


Elementary Counselor, Christine Pezzino and Principal, Rhonda Pevorus NJSCA Announces 2020 “COUNSELOR OF THE COUNTY” AWARDS RECEIPIENTS

Ewing, NJ. –On Friday, March 13, 2020 NJSCA honored school counselors from the different
counties within the State of New Jersey at the annual “Counselor of the County” Awards
Program held at The College of New Jersey. School counselors are nominated by their
colleagues and are selected by their own county’s School Counselor Associations for this award.
The award honors the professionals who devote their careers to serving as advocates – and often
lifesavers – for the nation’s students. Christine Pezzino, a school counselor from Union
Township Elementary School, was selected as the 2019-2020 Counselor of the County for
Hunterdon County.

Candidates are selected for the Counselor of the County Award at their county-level school
counselor associations. They are selected because of their ability to deliver an effective school
counseling program which focuses on academic development, career counseling, and
personal/social support. They further distinguish themselves by proving to be leaders of
systemic change, advocates for students, and collaborative professionals who seek the success of
the “whole” student in school and in life. For more specific information on this association, visit:

Submission by Dana Karas
NJSCA Professional Recognition Chair